Keeping up With the Coupons

Okay I have a confession to make.  I spent almost an entire afternoon re-organizing my coupon binder because I hadn’t kept up with it.  I would have saved myself so much time and effort if I had kept up with it every week.  When you get 5 papers per week and you don’t keep up with your clipping, sorting and putting them in your binder it really adds up. Here are some things that have helped me.

My time is valuable:

If I don’t make this a weekly habit of taking out my expired coupons and putting in the new, then I have double the work next week.  Plus I am fighting with clutter of coupons all week.  It really only takes an hour of my time to clip and organize my coupons, but it takes me much longer if I have several weeks to go through. So, set aside the time each Sunday to get it done and then you are ready to shop when it’s time.  I actually had a gentleman at a store the other day tell me that he didn’t have time to be organized because he was so busy with his job.  While I can understand that, being a busy mom, I have realized that I don’t have time NOT to be organized.  If I am not organized, like I previously stated, it takes me longer to get there, than if I had just started out that way.

Might miss out on deals:

I’ve missed out on a few deals because I didn’t have my coupons in my binder at the time I was in the store.  There are clearance sections in most stores and unless your coupon states that it excludes clearance items, you can score some pretty good deals.  If your binder is not up-to-date, then you might miss out on some good clearance deals while you are shopping in the store.  Make it a habit of bringing your binder with you every time you shop. You never know when or where a good deal will pop-up.

Coupons expire:

Your coupons do expire! I’ve gone up to the register before with an expired coupon ready to make a great deal, only to have the cashier tell me that I can’t do it.  This is all due to lack of organization.  I need to take the time to, not only, put the new coupons in, but to take out the expired ones. 

Tips:

  • Take your fliers and coupons out of the paper as soon as you get it.
  • Set aside time in your schedule to organize your coupons, maybe even plan an afternoon with a fellow couponning sister to clip your coupons together.  Then you are spending time with someone and getting organized.  I’m all for dual-purpose activities. 🙂
  • If you haven’t made a coupon binder or other coupon system yet, I would recommend this, go here to see an example
  • Have your children help you clip.  Yes, I have been accused by my husband of using my daughter for, what he jokingly calls, “slave labor”, but what I call a learning experience.  Not only is she building her skills of using the scissors (she’s 5), but I’m teaching her why I use coupons to help save our family money.  My son will help as soon as he realizes that I need the coupons and they are not paper airplanes. 🙂
  • Remember how much money you are saving your family by doing this and it makes it easier to want to do.  
  • Have fun with it! Put on a movie or your MP3 player or an audio book.  It makes the time go by faster.
One thought on “Keeping up With the Coupons

  1. Pingback: Command Center – Part 1 « Easy-Going Organizer

Leave a Reply

