Out-of-Stock … Again

So, I know that I wrote about out-of-stock merchandise in couponning etiquette, but I believe that it’s an issue to touch on again.

This week when I went to Rite Aid for the toothpaste and toothbrush deal, they were out of the toothbrushes on Sunday.  I was a little frustrated, being that it was the first day of the sale and they were already out.  I decided to wait and go to a different store later in the week.  To my dismay they were out as well … until I found an endcap that was fully stocked with toothbrushes and I ended up getting the deal.  The exact same thing happened to me with the Vaseline deal this week.  So here are my tips for out-of-stock merchandise.

  • If you go at the beginning of the week, you could always try again if the deal is worth it to you.
  • You could try multiple stores.  We live in Fremont and my husband works in Milpitas and there are many Rite Aids to choose from between here and there.
  • If you can’t find it in the store’s main location, check the endcaps (the displays at the end of the aisles).  I will usually walk the whole store checking the endcaps for regular and clearance deals.
  • Ask an associate if they have anymore elsewhere, or when they will be getting in their next shipment
  • Inform the store manager about stocking up for sales and checking coupon sites for deals that their customers will be most likely to buy.  It’s a good idea to build rapport with the stores you frequent anyways.  
  • Don’t get discouraged or upset, remember we are saving money! 🙂

I hope these tips help you as you are looking for those great deals!  Happy shopping!

Leave a Reply

