Bigger and Bigger

When our son Bryce was 2, we went on a trip with our youth group into the Redwood forest in Northern California.  As soon as we exited the car all Bryce could do was stare at the enormous trees.  He was fascinated by how tall they were.  During one of the worship sessions Bryce couldn’t sit still, so I took him outside to let him burn off some energy.  The first thing that he did was look up at the enormous tree and say, “Mommy, I’m going to climb this tree!”  I smiled, picked him up, and showed him the tree and said, “Bud, you are going to have to get a little bigger to climb this tree.”

He gave me his cute little doe-eyed look and replied, “ Mommy, I want to get bigger and Bigger and BIGGER!”  While he said this he stretched his hands out to show me how big he wanted to get.  I told him that soon he would be big enough to climb trees, and continued to watch him run around and dig in the dirt.  As I watched him play, I started thinking about my responsibility as his parent to help him to grow.  Not just his physical growth, but also his spiritual growth came into my mind.

I thought of how I needed to continue praying that God would raise him up to be a godly man and a leader in his generation.  God reminded me of the parable of the growing seed in Mark 4:26-29

26 He also said, “This is what the kingdom of God is like. A man scatters seed on the ground. 27 Night and day, whether he sleeps or gets up, the seed sprouts and grows, though he does not know how. 28 All by itself the soil produces grain—first the stalk, then the head, then the full kernel in the head. 29 As soon as the grain is ripe, he puts the sickle to it, because the harvest has come.”

As a parent I tend to get anxious about the growth of my children, but I need to remember that God has them in His care as well.  I am to provide their needs and teach them in the Lord’s ways, but it is the Lord who produces the harvest.  They belong to Him and my husband and I are just their guardians for as long as God allows us to be. 

What are the seeds God is asking you to care for today?  Is it your children, your friends, your loved ones?  How are you going to encourage their growth?   Remember that they are in the Lord’s care too and that it is He who provides the harvest.

2 thoughts on “Bigger and Bigger

    • Thanks, I thought you’d get a kick out of that one. Don’t know if you had a chance to read last week’s devo on Texture. You can only guess what that story is about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

