Value

Since moving to our new house, I have been to the local Home Depot at least a dozen times already, for one thing or another.  My kids joined me on one such trip, and if you know anything about bringing kids to a hardware store, you know that it can be a challenge to keep them entertained.  First of all, with my children, I needed to keep them contained, or they would have been running all over the store getting into everything.  However, we were in the store for longer than I expected and they began to get bored very quickly.  I decided to let them out of the cart for a few minutes to stretch their legs while I looked at a specific product. 

This turned out to be a mistake, as they did exactly what I didn’t want them to do.  They were exploring everything, and at one point my son climbed into the shelving where a product had been sold and there was a hole just big enough for him to fit.  He proudly announced to me that he was for sale.  Once I got him safely out of the spot, I looked at him, very amused, and asked, “How much are you for sale for, bud?”  He looked up at me and very sincerely said, “Mommy, I am one dollar and ninety-seven cents.” 

Chuckling to myself I told him, “You are worth so much more than that, little boy.  I couldn’t even put a price sticker on how much you are worth.”   As we left the store, I was processing what had transpired, and God brought verses to my mind on how much we are valued in His eyes.  Matthew 6:26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?   Likewise in Psalm 139:13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

God values us so much that He individually created each one of us, according to His perfect plan.  Not only that, but He takes care for our needs and our lives as a mother cares for her children.  We need to feel and accept this value and love from Him, even if we do not get it from other people in our lives.  We are a treasure to the Lord and we need to live our lives like we believe that. 

Remember that, today and always, you are valued and loved and cherished by the King of Kings!

Leave a Reply

