Sacrifice

This past Good Friday, as I sat through service, I was trying to contemplate the magnitude of the sacrifice that Christ made for us.  My mind wandered and I began thinking of parenthood and the sacrifices that I have personally made for my children, out of my deep love for them.

  • Lack of sleep – whether from late night feedings or bad dreams.
  • Personal hygiene – for Easter service I literally had 5 minutes to get ready because I was too busy making breakfast and getting the kids ready.
  • Body changes – my body is definitely not the 110 lbs. that it used to be and it’s now covered in stretch marks, or as I like to call them, love marks
  • Time – It never seems like I have enough time to get things done.
  • Personal space – There is always someone vying for space in my lap or a hand to hold or coming into the bathroom when I am in it.

As I thought about the sacrifices that I have made for my children, I realized that all of them pale in comparison for the sacrifices that God has made for me.

  • Loving me in spite of my sinful nature and willfulness.
  • Making the heavens and the earth, only to have me take them for granted.
  • Supplying me with the way to go, only to have me turn from it.
  • And of course the ultimate sacrifice of sending His own, perfect Son to earth to take my punishment for sin during a horrific death on the cross.

All of this to bring His fallen children back into right standing with Him.  I will never fully understand such sacrifice and love.

I love my children so much and would be willing to do anything for them, but as it says in 1 John 3:1a and 16

1How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!

16This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us.  And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.

My friends, I pray that whatever comfort, hope, peace, or even conviction you were able to grasp from Easter this year; may you truly understand the depth of God’s love and the sacrifice that was given so that we may live.

Leave a Reply

