Let the Little Children Come

I really must admit that I have had many times in my life where I have been really distracted.  I have too many balls that I am trying to juggle and I just don’t feel like I have time for my children like I should.  They are my priority in life, but I am not living as if that is true.  I noticed this specifically the other day as I was outside gardening and my daughter came prancing up to me, excited to show me whatever bug she caught.  I had my hands up to my elbows in dirt and I said something to the effect of, “Not right now sweetie. Mommy’s a little busy.”   She walked off with a very dejected look on her face and if she had a tail, I know it would be between her legs, as if she had done something wrong. 

A little while later, as the kids were playing in the dirt and having a marvelous time, they started singing their choir song.  It’s called Let the Little Children Come.  As I sat there weeding the garden, I let the words of the song in their sweet voices, ring out in my mind and my heart.  The song is straight from scripture.  From Matthew 19:14, Mark 10:14, and Luke 18:16 Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

The context of this verse has even deeper meaning to me, in that the disciples were hindering some children from coming and “bothering” Jesus.  Thinking that He had more valuable things to do with His time than to play and entertain these young minds, the disciples were doing what they thought was right.  Christ, in three different gospel accounts, gently rebukes the disciples, saying “Do not hinder them”.

It really caused me to think of where my priorities were in life right then.  Is it more important that I get all of my tasks done for the day or that my children feel loved and cherished.  The days that my kids have the most fun are the ones where I spend time with them and play with them.  Letting them know that they are more valued than the dishes or the laundry.  Even allowing them to help with those things so that they have a sense of ownership over the house is spending time with them.  Would I get things done a lot faster if I did it myself? Sure! But I would sacrifice the blessing of having my children “come to me” and seeing them learn and grow and play.

Christ understood the value that children have and that we only have a few short years to be with them and teach them the way that they need to go, so that they do not stray from it. As tiring as it can be some days, I am learning to “not hinder” my children when they come to me.  Even if it’s just to show me their bugs, or tell me their silly stories.

Where are you placing your value today?  Is it on your tasks and accomplishments or is it on the people around you?  Join me as I make it my goal to “not hinder”, but embrace those who take time out of my busy schedule, especially my children.

Leave a Reply

